But if you forge ahead, Facebook will ask you to specify why you're leaving, whether you'll opt-out of future emails, agree to delete any apps or pages you've developed, and then you can hit confirm. Facebook will leave you alone, but there's the option to reactivate.To fully delete an account, go to the Delete My Account page.You can access all of your settings by clicking the gear icon in the top right corner of the screen.
Just be aware that, per the Facebook data use policy: "After you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users."Translation: If you wrote a comment on a friend's status update or photo, it will remain even after you delete your own profile.
Your tweets, on the other hand, are a breeze to obliterate. page from a desktop web browser (you can't do it via mobile) and you can deactivate your account.
Sadly, not all websites and social networks and online retailers are created equal when it comes to breaking up.
With some, it takes only a couple of clicks to say goodbye.
If you've signed up for ad-free services via Yahoo Mail Pro and you're still seeing ads on your desktop web browser, then your computer or web browser may be infected with malware.
Malware like this is usually installed as an add-on, extension, or plug-in into your web browser.
You don't want to rush into a breakup, but if you're ready, we've compiled the links, tips, and—in the most extreme cases—the phone numbers you need to sever ties.
(And let's be clear, there's a difference between deleting an account and just deactivating it.
But before you give Zuckerberg and pals the old heave-ho, bear in mind that Facebook has become an almost-de-facto login option for many, many online services, retailers, and media outlets. So killing a Facebook account could lock you out of more than just one social network. If you're ready to cut ties, the link to deactivate is in your account settings, under Privacy, but here's a direct link to use while logged in.
Facebook will try to convince you to stay by showing you photos of the friends who will presumably miss your online presence.
For a few sites, if you stop paying for the service, the site cuts ties fairly quickly. Even after you follow all the required steps, some sites never quite leave you alone, with vestiges of your relationship around forever.